Visa on Arrival (VOA) is available at all Indonesia airports. As of 26 January 2010 foreign tourists visiting Indonesia can now extend their VOA for another 30 days and also as of 20th August 2013, Iranian citizens will have to apply for an Indonesia Visa at their nearest Indonesian Embassy before arriving in Indonesia.

Under the new ruling the Indonesian immigration office has removed the seven-day VOA. As of 3rd July 2014, it now only issues VOA for a 30-day stay for USD35.00, which can be extended for another 30 days. Before this new ruling foreign tourists cannot extend their VOA. They have to leave the country and then return to get a new visa.

Passport: Ensure that your passport is valid for least six months from date of arrival in Indonesia and that you have proof – return air tickets – of onward passage or you may be refused entry. After purchasing the VOA proceed to immigration for the processing of the visa. Before passing through immigration you have to fill out a disembarkation card, half of which you must keep to give to immigration when you leave the country.

Overstaying: A fee of USD20.00 a day is levied for overstaying the length of the tourist visa. Exemptions may be made for legitimate reasons, such as illness. If possible, report the reason for overstaying to the immigration office of the nearest destination or airport.

Citizens of the following countries can obtain VOA at all international airports in Indonesia:

Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Egypt, Estonia, Fiji, Greece, Iceland, India, Ireland, Latvia, Libya, Liechtensteia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Maldives, Malta, Monaco, Panama, Portugal, Romania, Saudi Arabia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Suriname, Taiwan, Tunisia.

Citizens of the following countries do not require a visa to enter Indonesia:

Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Finland, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Italy, Kuwait, Japan, Laos, Macau, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, Myanmar, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Peru, People’s Republic of China, Philippines, Poland,  Qatar, Russia, Singapore, South Korea, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, The Netherlands, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States of America, Vietnam,

Citizens of all other countries have to obtain tourist visa at the Indonesian embassy or consulate of their home country before their arrival in Indonesia.

Indonesia Passenger Service Charge (IPSC)

The Indonesia Passenger Service Charge (IPSC) 150,000 Rupiah for international departures, and 40,000 Rupiah for domestic departures) is collected/reflected on the ticket as additional tax.


Subscribe now and receive the latest news about hotels, discounts, special offers and interesting information about Indonesia




  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Blogger Blog